The Best Hybrid Yoga Teacher Training Programmes (2027): Online Plus In Person, Compared
A hybrid yoga teacher training splits the 200 hours between a screen and a room: part of the curriculum online, part in person, usually in a block of one to two weeks. It is the fastest-growing format in teacher training and the easiest one to sell badly, because the word hybrid covers everything from a four-month live course on Zoom with a week in Sicily to a self-paced video library with four days in a villa. The certificate at the end can read the same. What you actually experienced will not.
This guide compares eight hybrid 200-hour programmes on the things that decide whether the format works for you: how many of the 200 hours happen with a teacher present, live, in a room or on a call; how the online part is delivered and how long you keep it; how many days you spend on site and where; what the price includes; and who, by name, is teaching. Every figure was read on the school’s own site between 16 and 20 October 2026.
One thing before the list. We run one of these schools. Loka Yoga School is in Kedungu, Tabanan, in Bali, and our hybrid 200-hour sits at number one, which is exactly what you would expect a school to do with its own ranking. So read our entry the way you would read a rival’s: check the live hours, check the price, check who is teaching. We have no affiliate or commission arrangement with any school on this page and nobody has paid for a place on it.
The short answer
If you want the depth of an established in-person school without committing to four weeks abroad, start with Loka’s online component for $999 and finish with seven days and 50 live hours in Bali or Perth. The other seven range from four months of live Zoom classes before a week in Sicily to six weeks online and eight days in an Indian ashram for USD 1,800 with food and a bed. All eight are compared in the table and the entries below.
How we compared them
Yoga Alliance allows a Registered Yoga School to deliver part of a 200-hour training online, and its standards treat live, synchronous teaching differently from recorded material, so a school has to be able to show how its live hours are met. We did not audit anyone’s compliance. What we did is ask the question every buyer should ask, and most sales pages avoid: how many of the 200 hours happen with a teacher present, in a room or in a live session?
So for each school we recorded four things. Live hours: the hours a teacher is present, in a room or in a live online session, as the school publishes them. Online delivery: recorded, live, or both, and how long you keep access. Time on site: how many days, where, and what the price includes. People: the lead teachers by name, and the group size if the school publishes one.
Where a school does not publish a figure we say so rather than guessing. We did not rank by how many countries a school claims students from, by follower counts, or by the size of the struck-through price. We kept Bali-based schools out of this list; if you want the live week in Bali, they are compared school by school in our guide to the best yoga teacher training in Bali.
The eight hybrid yoga teacher trainings, compared
| # | Programme | Where in person | Days on site | Online delivery | Live hours (as published) | Price (Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Loka Yoga School (that is us) | Kedungu, Bali, or Perth, Australia | 7 | Self-paced, the full 200-hour curriculum, 24 months access | 50 in person over 7 days | $999 online component; $1,999 with the Bali week and three buffet meals a day; $2,499 with a private ensuite room |
| 2 | Ode Yoga Institute | Madonie mountains, Sicily | 7 | 100 per cent live on Zoom, January to May 2027; recorded on request | All of it: live weekends, then a live week | EUR 3,890 (early bird 3,590, sold out) incl. double room and board |
| 3 | School Yoga Institute | Montezuma, Costa Rica | 10 | Live Zoom weekends and Wednesdays, recorded as back-up | Live weekends + 10 days | $2,200 tuition ($2,400 on a plan) + $1,100 to $2,500 room with meals |
| 4 | Himalaya Yoga Valley | Mandrem Beach, Goa, India, or Cork, Ireland | 11 | Self-paced theory module with live Q&A and weekly coaching calls | 11 days in person, plus live calls | EUR 1,599 to 2,599 depending on room and booking date; 10 nights and full board included |
| 5 | The Yoga Nerds | Prestonpans, Scotland (four weekends), or Goa, India | 10 | Live calls on 2nd and 4th Saturdays, June to September 2027, plus on-demand videos and a resource library | Fortnightly live calls + 10 days in person | GBP 2,690 tuition (Scotland); from EUR 2,890 incl. 9 nights and three meals a day (Goa) |
| 6 | Sri Sri School of Yoga | Art of Living Ashram, Bangalore, India | 8 | 6 weeks of live sessions on India time | Live online + 8 days | INR 48,000 / USD 1,800 incl. food and a bed |
| 7 | Lakshmi Rising | Loulé, Algarve, Portugal | 14 | Pre-recorded modules and assignments after the immersion, email support | 14 days in person | From $3,368 incl. room and three plant-based meals a day |
| 8 | Bend it like Buddha | Portimão, Algarve, Portugal | 4 (two 4-day blocks listed) | Self-paced online portal | About 4 days in person | Hybrid price not on the page we read; the 2-week in-person version is from $3,139 |
Prices include wildly different things: a room, no room, two meals, three meals, a lifetime library, a cohort. Read the full cost breakdown for a yoga teacher training before you compare any two of these numbers.
1. Loka Yoga School: the best hybrid yoga teacher training if you want a working school behind it
Kedungu, Tabanan, Bali, or Perth, Western Australia. Seven days on site. Online component $999; $1,999 with the Bali week and three buffet meals a day; $2,499 with a private ensuite room. 24 months of online access.
This is our school, so here’s the honest background first. For years we didn’t offer any part of the 200-hour online. Since COVID, Yoga Alliance has pushed schools like ours to move teacher training online, and we said no: we both trained the classical way, with teachers of the old school, and we didn’t believe a screen was the place to learn how to teach. What changed our minds was watching where students went instead. Some ended up in online schools we know well, schools that fall far short on integrity and honesty, and they came out with a certificate and didn’t feel prepared to teach at all. So we went against our own instincts and built the online half to the same standard as the Bali training, so more people can learn with a school that teaches with integrity, honesty and love.
Our hybrid is the full curriculum of the 28-day Bali training we have run since 2017, split in two. The online component carries the lectures, the practices and the assignments, taught by the same two lead teachers who teach the in-person course: Taryn Weggelaar, E-RYT 500, on philosophy, meditation and pranayama, and Yann Cadic on anatomy and physiology, from a background in cardiac surgery, intensive care nursing and tropical medicine, then years as an advanced care paramedic and remote site medic. The in-person week is 50 live contact hours over seven days, in Kedungu with three buffet meals a day, or at our Perth cohort in Western Australia. Graduates register as RYT-200 through Loka’s Yoga Alliance RYS 200, the same registration our Bali graduates have held since 2017.
Why first. Because the online component is not a product designed for a screen. It is the Bali training, recorded by the people who teach it, and the week in the room is taught by the same two people. You can start for $999 today and decide later where your live hours happen: Kedungu, in the rice fields a kilometre from the beach, 20 minutes north of Canggu; Perth, in a studio in Osborne Park from December 2026; or, once the remaining modules are released, fully online. We’re releasing those modules progressively because each one is filmed, edited and checked to the in-person standard, and we expect all of them to be live by December 2026. The fully online completion, including how it delivers the live hours, will be priced and detailed on release.
The foundation is hatha vinyasa, taught deeply enough that you can build, sequence and hold a class from it, with an introduction to restorative and yin, power, kirtan kriya, yin and yang, Ashtanga and Iyengar. That foundation is what lets our graduates go on to teach any of those styles.
Who it suits. People who want to learn real yoga, not just a list of asanas, and who want to learn how to teach properly, with plenty of teaching practice and expert teachers. A week rather than a month away, with the choice of Bali or Perth for the live block.
What graduates say. These are from graduates of the Bali training this hybrid is built from.
“Yann (the anatomy teacher) and Taryn (the lead asana and philosophy teacher) go far beyond the basics needed for a Yoga Alliance certified course.”
Sherry Rickard (Canada)
“The entire program is very well-structured, delivering knowledge in an exciting, engaging manner that is neither boring nor tiring.”
Mehrnaz Zouqi (USA)
“The courses perfectly build one on the other. The teachers are all very passionate and committed to their practice and teaching.”
Hanna Emlein (Germany)
Good to know. The online component is self-paced, with no scheduled live calls; your live hours are the seven days. Access is 24 months. The online component is non-refundable.
2. Ode Yoga Institute: the most live teaching of any hybrid here
Madonie mountains, Sicily, Italy. Seven days on site, 22 to 29 May 2027. EUR 3,890 (early bird 3,590, sold out when we checked), including a double room and board in Italy. Maximum 18.
Ode is the one school on this list that refuses pre-recorded material. From 15 January to 29 May 2027 the whole online half runs live on Zoom: a seminar weekend once a month (Friday evening, all day Saturday, Sunday to mid afternoon), a live class every Saturday morning, and a monthly live masterclass. If you miss a session through illness they will record it for you by prior agreement, and that is the exception, not the design. The course then ends with a week in a 17th-century masseria in the Madonie mountain park, where the practical teaching assessment and the written exam happen in person. Co-founders Inanna Fronius and Jenny Hirtz, both E-RYT 500, lead, with guest teachers for philosophy (Prasad Rangnekar), anatomy (Sabeth Glasmeyer) and mantra (Neha Puglia).
Who it suits. Anyone who wants the structure of a cohort that meets every weekend, who learns by being in the room even when the room is a video call, and who can commit to Central European time for five months.
Limitations. It is the most expensive hybrid on the list, and the price covers Italy, not your flights to Catania. Five months of weekend commitment is a real diary cost. And the live model means there is no catching up at 2am after work; you are expected to be there.
3. School Yoga Institute: live weekends, then Costa Rica
Montezuma, Costa Rica, at the AVES resort. Ten days on site. $2,200 tuition paid in full ($2,400 on a payment plan), plus accommodation with meals from $1,100 (quad share) to $2,500 (private). Next hybrid: 9 October to 20 November 2026, then 5 November to 15 December 2027.
School Yoga Institute runs the online half live on Zoom: Wednesdays and Fridays from midday to 4pm Pacific, Saturdays and Sundays from 6am to 2pm Pacific. For the 2026 cohort that is two online weekends (9 to 11 and 23 to 25 October), a Wednesday on 4 November, then ten days in person from 11 to 20 November. Sessions are recorded as back-up, but the school says plainly that attending live is strongly recommended “for ease of certification”, which is the honest way to describe the difference. The in-person block is on the Nicoya peninsula with two facilitators, Mindi and Nadine. Tuition includes lifetime access to their online 200-hour programme and an online membership with weekly classes afterwards.
Who it suits. North and Central American trainees who want live weekends in their own time zone and a short, well-organised immersion somewhere warm.
Limitations. Add the room and the real price is $3,300 to $4,700. Group size is not published. There are two hybrid cohorts a year, so the dates have to suit you.
4. Himalaya Yoga Valley: self-paced theory, then eleven days in Goa or Ireland
Mandrem Beach, Goa, India, or Cork, Ireland. Eleven days on site. From EUR 1,599 early bird (EUR 1,999 regular) in a triple room to EUR 2,199 early bird (EUR 2,599 regular) in a private room, with ten nights and full board included; the fee you have already paid for the online module is deducted. Next Goa dates: 26 October to 5 November 2026, 19 to 29 January 2027, 16 to 26 March 2027.
Himalaya Yoga Valley has been training teachers for over twenty years, and its hybrid comes in two modules. Module A is the theory, delivered on demand through the school’s online academy: philosophy, anatomy, meditation and pranayama at your own pace, with live Q&A sessions, weekly coaching calls and a student forum, plus access to its live-class platform while you study. Module B is eleven days in person at Mandrem Beach in Goa or in Cork, where teaching methodology, hands-on adjustments, alignment and peer teaching are taught and assessed. You can start the online module whenever you like and pick your in-person dates later. Founder Lalit Kumar leads the Goa trainings.
Who it suits. Someone who wants an established Indian school with a European base, an eleven-day block with the room and meals included, and in-person dates every few months rather than one intake a year.
Limitations. The theory hours are recorded, so the live online contact is the Q&A and coaching calls rather than taught sessions, and the hour split is not published. Group size is not stated. Cork dates were not listed on the hybrid page when we read it.
5. The Yoga Nerds: four months of live Saturdays, then ten days near Edinburgh or in Goa
Prestonpans, East Lothian, Scotland, or Goa, India. Ten days on site, delivered in Scotland as four long weekends. Scotland: GBP 2,690, tuition. Goa: from EUR 2,890 (GBP 2,490) with nine nights, three meals a day, airport transfers and an Ayurveda consultation and treatments included. Online part 5 June to 19 September 2027; Scotland weekends 18 to 20 June, 16 to 18 July, 20 to 22 August and 17 to 19 September 2027; Goa immersion 5 to 14 December 2027.
The Yoga Nerds is directed by Madhura Bhagwat, an Edinburgh-based teacher who built the programme as a four-month answer to the month-long intensive. The online half runs from June to September with an orientation call, live calls on the second and fourth Saturdays (16:00 to 18:30 British time), on-demand videos and a resource library, practical assignments and a 60-minute mentor session you book by email. The ten in-person days in Scotland are four weekends spread across the course (Friday evening, then Saturday and Sunday in two sessions each), so you are never away from home for more than three days. The Goa route swaps those weekends for a ten-day residential immersion in December. Styles covered include hatha, Ashtanga vinyasa, creative vinyasa, restorative and yin.
Who it suits. Someone in the UK or Europe who wants a real cohort rhythm, live calls with the same teacher for four months and no long trip away; or someone who wants that same online half followed by a Goa immersion with everything on one bill.
Limitations. Live calls run on British time, which rules out most of Asia and the Americas. The split between live and recorded hours is not published. Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable, and the Scotland price does not include food or accommodation.
6. Sri Sri School of Yoga: the budget option, with an ashram
Art of Living International Centre, Bangalore, India. Eight days on site. INR 48,000 or USD 1,800, food and accommodation included.
Six weeks online, then eight days residential at the Art of Living ashram. The online sessions are live, scheduled on India time, and the school allows up to eight hours of missed live sessions, with make-up fees beyond four, which tells you the live part is taken seriously. Yoga Alliance 200-hour accredited and also certified by India’s Ministry of AYUSH. Dates were not listed on the page when we read it, and the hybrid still carries a COVID test or vaccination requirement.
Who it suits. Someone on a budget who wants live teaching in the Indian tradition and does not mind sessions timed for India.
Limitations. Eight days is short for the practical side. Group size and lead teachers are not stated on the hybrid page. The time zone will decide whether this is feasible for you.
7. Lakshmi Rising: two weeks in the Algarve first, study after
Loulé, Algarve, Portugal. Fourteen days on site. From $3,368 (budget dorm) to $6,736 (luxury suite), including the room, three plant-based meals a day on training days, workshops and excursions. Between 18 and 24 participants, depending on which part of the page you read.
Lakshmi Rising inverts the usual order: the immersion comes first, as the opening fourteen days of their 21-day Algarve training, and the remaining hours are completed afterwards through pre-recorded modules, quizzes and written assignments on a personal portal, with email support from the faculty. Final certification follows the at-home coursework. The programme director is Dr Liz Lindh.
Who it suits. People who want the longest in-person block of any hybrid here, in Europe, with everything on one bill.
Limitations. There are no live online sessions after you leave. No hour split is published. No 2026 or 2027 dates were listed on the page we read. It is one of the most expensive options once you choose a room above the dorm.
8. Bend it like Buddha: four days, then online
Portimão, Algarve, Portugal. Four days on site, listed as two four-day blocks per intake (7 to 10 and 14 to 17 October 2026; 2 to 5 and 9 to 12 December 2026). The hybrid price is not published on the page we read; the two-week in-person version is from $3,139 with room, meals and airport transfers.
Bend it like Buddha has run RYS 200, 300 and 500 trainings in the Algarve since 2011. The hybrid pairs a short stay in Praia da Rocha with a self-paced online portal of recorded lectures, flows, quizzes and assignments, led by L. Farrah Furtado, E-RYT 500. Groups of five to ten.
Who it suits. Someone who needs the shortest possible time away and is comfortable doing most of a 200-hour at home.
Limitations. Four days in person is the least live contact on this list by a long way. The hybrid price and the online hours are not on the public page. No 2027 dates were listed.
Recorded video is study. Live hours are the training. Ask every school which is which.
How to read a hybrid before you pay
Three questions settle it.
One: how many of the 200 hours are live, with a teacher present, in a room or on a call? Ask for the number and ask for it in writing. A school that knows its own programme can answer in a sentence. On this list the answers run from four days in a villa to five months of live weekends plus a week in the mountains, and the certificate at the end reads the same.
Two: is the online part recorded or live, and for how long do you keep it? Recorded with lifetime access and live with a cohort are different products at the same price. Neither is wrong. One lets you study at 2am after a shift; the other makes you show up. Decide which one you will actually finish.
Three: what does the headline price include? A $1,500 tuition plus a $1,500 room is not cheaper than a $2,500 all-inclusive. Count the nights, count the meals, count the airport transfer, and compare the total, not the first number on the page.
The schools above that publish all three things are the ones we ranked highest, and that is not a coincidence. Transparency on the sales page is the best predictor we know of what the training will be like once you have paid.
Start online, finish in Bali or Perth
Buy the online component, work through it at your own pace, and book your seven days in Kedungu or Perth when it suits you. Every option, with what each one includes, is on the hybrid prices page. If you would rather do the whole 28 days in Bali, that training has not changed.
Frequently asked questions
Is a hybrid yoga teacher training recognised by Yoga Alliance?
Yes, when the school is a Yoga Alliance Registered Yoga School and the programme meets its standards, which allow part of a 200-hour training to be delivered online. Your RYT-200 registration is the same whether you trained in person, online or hybrid. Check the school’s RYS 200 listing on the Yoga Alliance directory rather than taking the badge on the website at face value.
How many days in person does a hybrid yoga teacher training need?
Anything from four days to two weeks on this list. Ten to fourteen days is typical. Fewer than seven means most of your practical teaching happens on a screen, which is the thing the in-person part exists to fix.
How much does a hybrid yoga teacher training cost?
From USD 1,800 with food and a bed in an Indian ashram to EUR 3,890 all-inclusive in Sicily. Most of the rest land between about USD 2,000 and 3,500 once the room is counted. Loka’s starts at $999 for the online component, then $1,999 to $2,499 with the week and three meals a day.
Do recorded videos count as live hours?
No. Yoga Alliance treats live teaching, in person or in a live online session, differently from recorded material, and a school has to show how its live hours are met. Ask for the split in writing. On this list, Ode and School Yoga Institute run the online half live, The Yoga Nerds and Himalaya Yoga Valley mix recorded lessons with scheduled live calls, and the rest, including our own online component, are recorded, with the live hours delivered on site.
Can I teach yoga after a hybrid training?
Yes, with the same RYT-200 registration as an in-person graduate. What studios notice is how you teach, which is why the number of live, assessed teaching hours matters more than the format label.
Which hybrid yoga teacher training has the most live teaching?
Ode Yoga runs the entire online half live on Zoom before a week in Sicily. School Yoga Institute does the same before ten days in Costa Rica, and The Yoga Nerds adds fortnightly live Saturday calls across four months. Loka delivers 50 live hours in a single seven-day block in Bali or Perth.
Is a hybrid cheaper than an in-person yoga teacher training?
Usually, because you pay for one or two weeks of room and board instead of three or four, and because tuition for the online portion is cheaper to deliver. Compare totals, though: a hybrid with a $1,500 tuition and a $1,500 room costs the same as an all-inclusive in-person month at $3,000, with a fraction of the live hours.
The Loka Newsletter
Enliven your routine with exclusive spiritual content. There’s so much to learn.
Find us on Instagram
@lokayogaschool












