What are the 7 chakras and what do they mean?

What are the 7 chakras and what do they mean?

What are the 7 chakras and what do they mean?

If you have ever taken a yoga class or participated in a meditation session, you have likely heard the term “chakras”. It is actually very common in holistic healing approaches. However, not many people understand how they affect a person’s physical and mental health. In other words, people do not comprehend the role of these energy centres in the body because they appear abstract, complex, and very difficult to define.

Therefore, here, we will explain these energy points in detail, so you will understand what they mean and how they influence your overall health and well-being.

the 7 chakras

What is a chakra?

Chakras are the energy centres in the human body that emit different kinds of energy. Namely, every cell of our body emits energy, but this energy changes depending on the body location through which it is flowing. The name “chakra” comes from the Sanskrit term that means “wheel” or “disk”, meaning that the energy centres in our body spin through major organs and nerves to distribute a distinguished type of energy.

More precisely, every chakra is found in the astral body, starting from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The astral body is the carrier of the energy we have in our physical one, and it cannot be touched or seen. That is why these energy centres are invisible to the naked eye, but we can feel them as they correspond to the specific spiritual, psychological, physical, and emotional aspects.  

These key energy points in the body must stay open rather than blocked. A blocked chakra represents the occurrence of physical or mental symptoms closely related to a certain part of the human body. In other words, a person who has a blocked chakra may experience physical, emotional, or psychological disorders. Hence, it is important to understand each chakra separately, so you can keep it open, i.e. keep your energy flowing through your body seamlessly. 

What are the 7 chakras in the body? 


There is an infinite number of chakras in the body, but seven are considered to be the main ones because they correspond to specific places in the body. Each of them has a particular colour, symbol, sound, number, sense, and more.

1. Root Chakra  

Muladhara chakra in Sanskrit means “base support”, and its name is related to the location where it is found – the base of the spine. This energy point is related to physical stability and survival. It is the energy centre that keeps you grounded and allows you to withstand and conquer different challenges that life may impose.

The Muladhara chakra affects your levels of confidence as well as your physical safety and security. It also helps you recognise and accept the truth. 

  • Mantra: LAM 
  • Pranayama: alternate nostril breathing, cooling breath, sitting and breathing while visualising your roots growing into the earth from your seat 
  • Asanas: Tree Pose or similar balancing poses that help you establish stability and a stronger relationship with the foundation of your body
  • Mudra: Muladhara Mudra

2. Sacral Chakra

Svadhisthana chakra is related to emotions and sexuality. This energy point is located in the lower abdomen, and it distributes a creative and sexual flow throughout the body. The Sacral chakra helps you handle and respond to your emotions and the ones you receive from others.

  • Mantra: VAM 
  • Pranayama: abdominal breathing with awareness, closing the right nostrils with the first two fingers of the right hand (8-10 breaths)  
  • Asanas: Seated Forward Bend, Goddess Pose, Reverse Warrior Pose 
  • Mudra: Shakti Mudra
Svadhisthana chakra

3. Solar Plexus Chakra 

Manipura chakra in Sanskrit means “city of jewels”, so this energy centre is related to personal power, located between the diaphragm and the navel. The Solar Plexus chakra helps you determine who you are and what you are capable of. Namely, it lets you shine your own light, uses your own power and allows you to be the best version of yourself. 

Manipura chakra distributes energy flow that affects your personal power and encourages motivation. In other words, it allows you to discover yourself and your abilities.

  • Mantra: RAM 
  • Pranayama: deep inhalation through the nose and expansion of the belly with strong exhalation through the mouth 
  • Asanas: Revolved Triangle Pose, Bow Pose, Breath of Fire, Cobra Pose  
  • Mudra: Rudra Mudra
Manipura chakra

4.Heart Chakra 

Anahata chakra is located in the centre of the heart. Due to its position, it is not surprising that this energy point in the body is all about showing compassion and developing the ability to love. The heart chakra affects the personal and professional relationships you create throughout life. Additionally, it corresponds to your ability to connect with yourself and others around you. 

  • Mantra: YAM 
  • Pranayama: slow inhalation from the back of the heart to the top of the head with the tongue placed on the roof of the mouth
  • Asanas: Low Lunge, Cobra Pose, Sphinx Pose, Dancers Pose
  • Mudra: Apan Vayu Mudra
Anhata Chakra

5. Throat Chakra 

Vishuddah chakra corresponds to communication. In Sanskrit, its name denotes purification, which refers to every type of communication you experience. This is one of the chakras that helps you listen and be heard, so it is no wonder it is located in the throat. In addition, it distributes energy that enables you to voice your needs and create your reality with your own words. 

  • Mantra: HAM 
  • Pranayama: bee humming (bee breathing) 
  • Asanas: Plough Pose,  gentle neck stretches, Supported Fish Pose
  • Mudra: Granthita Mudra
Vishuddha Chakra

6. Third Eye Chakra 

Ajna chakra is located between the eyebrows, and it is an energy centre related to seeing, intuition, inspiration, and self-knowledge. This chakra helps you rely on your instincts and inner thoughts. Moreover, the Third Eye chakra is also related to imagination. Therefore, when you have that gut feeling that allows you to imagine and feel different situations, it is because of this energy centre in your body. 

  • Mantra: AUM or OM 
  • Pranayama: honeybee breathing – the vibration of the vocal cords 
  • Asanas: Lotus Pose, Downward Dog, Legs Up The Wall, Child’s Pose  
  • Mudra: Gyan Mudra  
Ajna Chakra

7. Crown Chakra 

The Sahasrara chakra is located at the top of the head and is related to intelligence. It encompasses all the senses, and it affects your choices. In other words, it influences the quality of life you lead and the purpose you find in it. Finally, the Crown chakra corresponds to the levels of consciousness and the vibrations you experience. 

  • Mantra: AH or OM 
  • Pranayama: skull shining breath, alternate nostril breathing  
  • Asanas: Crocodile Pose, Corpse Pose, Lotus Pose, Rabbit Stand  
  • Mudra: The Mudra of Thousand Petals
Sahasrara chakra

Understanding the seven chakras means understanding life to the fullest and living it most energetically. You have to bear in mind that the chakra system affects the quality of your life, and to make the best of it, you have to allow positive energy to flow throughout your body. Keep your chakras open and feel healthier and happier! 

Don’t forget to check out our other blogs about chakras and guides on spirituality and well-being! 

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top