Guide to Muladhara Chakra, The First Chakra

Guide to Muladhara Chakra, The First Chakra

Guide to Muladhara Chakra, The First Chakra

There are seven main energy points in our body called chakras, each of which is as significant as the next. However, when learning about chakras, you need to start with the first one. The Muladhara chakra is located in the base of the spine, meaning it is the foundation of the energy that flows through your body.

In order to keep this energy centre open and keep the universe’s energy flowing seamlessly, you will have to learn more about it. That is why we have prepared a simple guide that will teach you everything about the Root chakra.

the 7 chakras

What is the root chakra?

The root chakra, or Muladhara chakra, is located at the base of the spine. It is the foundation of the seven main energy points in our body that affect our physical, psychological, and emotional well-being. It is considered the vital energy force in our body, meaning that it has a major influence on the harmonious balance we try to establish for our health.

The Muladhara chakra is located between the genitals and the anus. Keeping this in mind, it is responsible for the physical structure of our body. The name of this energy centre comes from the Sanskrit word “mula”, which means “root”, and “adhara”, which means “support”. As the name suggests, this is the energy point in our body that refers to everything that keeps us grounded.

This chakra refers to the primary needs in life, such as food, shelter, water, and safety. However, it also corresponds to our emotional needs, such as fear and worry. When the root chakra is open, it helps your body meet these basic requirements. Once these needs are fulfilled, you end up feeling safe and secure, meaning your fears and worries start to disappear, or they are not as frequent.

Muladhara Chakra

What are the characteristics of the root chakra?

 The 1st chakra is based on the earth element. Due to its location, it is considered the most important energy point in the body because it radiates and opens the energy flow for the other chakras. It is associated with two important features which make it significantly powerful:

  • Prithvi – The Earth Element

As previously mentioned, The Muladhara chakra is known to have a strong connection with the Earth. In other words, the energy of the root chakra brings us closer – or, rather connects us to the Earth’s energy. This feature of the root chakra keeps us grounded and enables positive energy and happiness to flow through our body. It is the representation of our whole physical structure that ensures stability and security.

  • Red colour

The root chakra is associated with the colour red because red symbolises vitality and strength. In order to achieve stability, we need something powerful to drive us, so red is the symbol that energises us and gives us the power for self-preservation.

Signs of an imbalanced root chakra 

As we stated, the Muladhara energy point is linked to our basic needs for survival, i.e. food, water, and shelter. This chakra has the role of enabling us to meet these requirements and achieve security. Once this is reached, our body finds itself in harmonious balance. However, some aspects, such as greediness, overeating, and holding on to material things, can disturb this balance.

When our body’s stability is disturbed and experiences negative energy, the root chakra loses its functionality. Namely, this occurrence obstructs our body from getting positive energy from the universe, and it leads to losing connection with the values of the Earth. Once the harmonious balance is disturbed, our body begins showing physical and mental signs of imbalance.

  • Physical signs of an imbalanced root chakra

Once your root chakra is disturbed and blocked, you can experience some pain in the lower parts of your body. When you’re facing an imbalance in the Muladhara chakra, you can notice several signs that are physically presenting themselves:

  • Weight loss
  • Weight gain
  • Incontinence
  • Pelvic pain
  • Constipation
  • Psychological and emotional signs of an imbalanced root chakra

However, an imbalanced root chakra does not always present itself through physical pain. You can experience several mental signs that can prevent you from functioning normally:

  • Stress, depression, and anxiety
  • Distractability
  • Inability to act
  • Feeling lost and stuck
  • Feeling lethargic

How to open the Muladhara chakra?

Once you notice some of these signs, you can take steps and begin the healing process. It is very important to acknowledge the blockage of chakras to establish the necessary balance once again. Allowing energy to flow through your body is essential so you can be comfortable in your skin. You need to feel grounded and achieve stability in order to let positive energy inhibit your body.

There are several things you can do to open your root chakra and let it function as it is supposed to.

  • Pranayama for Muladhara chakra

When your goal is to restore stability, you can try the victorious breath or Ujjayi, which is a calming and energising pranayama technique. You can also try the combination of breathing and visualisation, which will help you bring back your connection to the Earth. You just need to sit and breathe deeply while imagining roots growing into the ground, similar to a tree.

  • Yoga poses for Muladhara chakra

Yoga can also help to open your root chakra. You can try the Tree Pose, Balasana, Malasana, or any other balancing yoga pose that focuses on stability. Yoga sessions are known to work miraculously for balancing the Muladhara chakra.

When you work on your root chakra, you allow positive energy to spread inside your body. This helps you eliminate stress and anxiety that do not let you feel comfortable in your skin. Furthermore, working on the Muladhara chakra will enable you to create a powerful connection with the Earth and your surroundings. In other words, you will create a harmonious balance from which you will benefit physically, emotionally, and mentally.

If you wish to learn more about the different chakras, check out our blog section! Our 200 hour Yoga Teacher training is a great place to learn even more practical information on the chakras.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top